Fundraising Walk

Fundraising Walk

24th June – 14th July 2014

#DavesWalk

Fundraising with GoGetFunding

A fundraising walk is a popular way to support your favourite cause. Between 24th June and 14th July 2014, one of our volunteers and leaders supported Penge Green Gym by hiking along the backbone of England.

“I thought that walking the Pennine Way would be a fantastic way to fundraise for my local community group whilst also getting active in the outdoors!” said David Fergusson. “It will certainly be a challenge; I’ll need to build up my endurance, my mental strength and my stamina too.”

Dave took a career break and he said, “It is a classic walk and an unforgettable experience. I wanted to do something inspiring; I wanted a real physical challenge; I wanted to be able to say, ‘Yes, I did that!’

The Pennine Way

Fundraising Walk

The Pennine Way

“The Pennine Way is the most well-known National Trail,” explained David. “It is 270 miles long and I’ll be high above the nearest villages, with just the weather and wildlife. From Edale I’ll walk in open moorlands through the Peak District and the Bronte country.  Then I’ll cross the Yorkshire Dales and Three Peaks country.  After Swaledale, and some tough climbs, I’ll see High Force waterfall and High Cup Nick, before walking Hadrian’s Wall. Finally I’ll cross the Cheviot Hills to reach Kirk Yetholm in Scotland.”

Dave’s gruelling schedule which involved 19 days of walking is shown here:

Day Date Location Distance
1 Tue 24th June Edale  
2 Wed 25th June Torside 15 miles
3 Thu 26th June Standedge 10 miles
4 Fri 27th June Hebden Bridge 15 miles
5 Sat 28th June Stanbury 10 miles
6 Sun 29th June Thornton-in-Craven 13 miles
7 Mon 30th June Malham 10 miles
8 Tue 1st July Horton-in-Ribblesdale 14 miles
9 Wed 2nd July Hawes 14 miles
10 Thu 3rd July Keld 12 miles
11 Fri 4th July Baldersdale 14.5 miles
12 Sat 5th July Langdon Beck 15.5 miles
13 Sun 6th July Dufton 11 miles
14 Mon 7th July Garrigill 16 miles
15 Tue 8th July Greenhead 22 miles
16 Wed 9th July Steel Rigg 8 miles
17 Thu 10th July Bellingham 15 miles
18 Fri 11th July Byrness 15 miles
19 Sat 12th July Trows 15.5 miles
20 Sun 13th July Kirk Yetholm 15.5 miles

Created with Microsoft Fresh Paint

The GoGetFunding webpage is now closed & £635.50 was raised but you can still support Penge Green Gym via our Donations Page here: Donations

Comments are closed.